Archived News, News


De La Salle Zobel name School of the Year, wins big at Interschool Finals

De La Salle Zobel (DLSZ) capped a brilliant performance in the high school divisions while British School Manila (BSM) shone at the elementary level to share the top honors at the conclusion of the 2019 Interschool Golf Challenge recently.

DLSZ was also named the School of the Year for this year’s championship.

The team of Masaichi Otake, Francis Lanuza, Jolo Magcalayo, Miguel Ilas, and Jona Magcalayo topped the Senior High (SH) Division after finishing with 634 points.

DLSZ’s second SH team came in at second position with 584 points followed by Ateneo de Manila University in third place with 577 points.

Meanwhile, DLSZ’s junior high team posted another victory with its 575-aggregate performance to best the Xavier School and DLSZ Team 2, who had 504 and 468 points, respectively.

In the middle school division, BSM took full control of the game and managed to keep the lead by four to win the title against the Xavier School, 580-576.

Xavier’s second team settled for third place with 366 points in the junior division.

The lower school division was also highlighted by BSM, who defeated the Ateneo Team by merely two points, 352-350, to capture the coveted title. Xavier School finished at third with 298 points.

On the other hand, the Team International will face Philippine School in the 2019 JGFP Director’s Cup Invitational Golf Championships.
Playing for the Internationals are Jet (Team Captain) Hernandez, Santino Diokno, Garreth Tiu, Nikki Laude, Isiah Del Rosario, CJ Alcantara, Burberry Zhang, Brett Ng, Rho Hyun Ho, Sean Young, Rocco Pineda, Reese Ng, Santino Pineda, Rajah Crisostomo, Coco Ong, Alessandra Luciano, Gabie Rosca, Hanson Lim, Emman Escalada, and Dylan Tiu.

Leading the charge for the Philippine squad are the likes of Santino Laurel (Team Captain), Perry Bucay, Riggs Illescas, Pierre Ticzon, Joaquin Gomez, Francis Lanuza, Vitto Miravite, Juan Escano, Rico See, Jacob Chua, Zach Villaroman, Celine Abalos, Suzuki Shin, John Paul Agustin, Chaz Limketkai, Geoffrey Tan, Jaime Alabastro, Johann Pancho, Kim Tae Won, and Pacholo Medina.

Rajah Crisostomo and Reese Ng topped the putting contest with 11 and 15 putts while Brett Ng and Calene Ong won the pitching contest with 130 and 80 points, respectively.

The longest drive contest was highlighted by the drives of Pierre Ticzon (295 yards), Sofia Magbitang (157), Santino Pineda (243), Shinichi Suzuki (215), Reese Ng (170), and John Gomez (116).

Other skills challenge winners were Santino Diokno, Sofia Magbitang, Kim Tae Won, Rajah Crisostomo, Reese Ng, and Ahn Chan, who received the most accurate drive award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s